Video: Eritreans Yohanes G, Ghirmay Ghebreselassie Finish 5th, 7th at the Neitherlands Race


Eritreans Yohanes Ghebregergis, Ghirmay Ghebreselassie Finish 5th, 7th at the Neitherlands Race | November 15, 2015

Joshua Cheptegei and Yenenesh Tilahun have won the 32nd edition of the Scholten Awater Zevenheuvelenloop. Abdi Nageeye was the fastest Dutchman. The Ugandan winner for the men was 42.39 minutes needed for the 15 kilometers. In the women defeated Yenenesh Tilahun the Dutch Jip Vastenburg narrowly in the final meters. Both recorded a time of 50.05 minutes. The strong winds made for a difficult race for all runners. Impressive the minute of silence was held before the start of the victims in Paris.

world's only 19-year-old Joshua Cheptegei knew with a big lead to beat a field with many world class players. The Ugandan ran long been in the leading group disintegrated when a strong westerly on the Seven Hills. The last five kilometers accelerated Cheptegei and came with 23 seconds forked at the finish. Second and third place were the Ethiopians Mule Wasihun and Yenew Alamirew. In the women had Yenenesh Tilahun needed a blistering sprint to Jip Vastenburg behind them. The young Ethiopian runner ran one of her first games in Europe and would actually run the canceled half marathon in Paris.

Abdi Nageeye was placed on the fastest Dutchman fighting the wind to the finish. The first kilometers traveled Nageeye just wondering, later he connected with world champion marathon Ghirmay Ghebreslassie. In the final sprint Nageeye managed to finish just before the world champion and won thus the sixth place in the competitive field. Ghebreslassie stated not to be in top form after the many obligations that were associated with the achievement of the world in August. Dutchman Roy Hoornweg was second in 45.00 min, Khalid Choukoud finished in the same time. Jip Vastenburg was just too short to be the first Dutch winner of the Scholten Awater Zevenheuvelenloop since Carla Beurskens in 1990. Vastenburg walked with 50.05 min or a time that is rarely walked by Dutch athletes.

Ghirmay Ghebreslassie.

The 32nd Scholten Awater Zevenheuvelenloop was despite the strong wind and rain very successful. The organizing foundation Zevenheuvelenloop faced with difficult weather conditions, which demands a few adjustments. For example, the second half of the runners was just after the 11 kilometer point diverted to a falling tree around. The more than 6000 participants in the Seven Hills Night laid their round in the dark and the rain off. Atmospheric lighting, animal sounds of Nature in the forest along the pathway, bagpipe players and the runners made ​​a special atmosphere during the night. Also on Sunday there was much public present to encourage the more than 25 500 participants. The organization looks back at an attractive 32nd edition which was completed without problems. Raised for charity Natuurmonumenten is 20 534 euro.

The next event of the Foundation Zevenheuvelenloop the Stevens Walk on Sunday, March 13th.

1 Joshua Cheptegei Uganda 1st MSR 42:39 42:38 
2 Mule Wasihun Ethiopia 2nd MSR 43:02 43:01 
3 Yenew Alamirew Ethiopia 3rd MSR 43:09 43:08 
4 Tesfaye Abera Ethiopia 4th MSR 43:17 43:16 

5 Yohanes Ghebregergis Eritrea 5th MSR 43:35 43:34 
6 Abdi Nageeye AV Cifla 6th MSR 44:18 44:18 
7 Ghirmay Ghebreselassie Eritrea 7th MSR 44:19 44:19 
8 Sondre Nordstad Moen Norway 8th MSR 44:41 44:40 
9 Nicholas Bor Kenya 9th MSR 44:59 44:56 
10 Roy Hoornweg ARSV Passat 10th MSR 45:00 44:59 
11 Khalid Choukoud Haag Athletics MSR 11 45:00 45:00 
12 Morocco Youssef Kamali 12th MSR 45:19 45:19 
13 Regis Thonon Belgium MSR 13 46:08 46:05 
14 Koen Raymaekers UAV Hellas 14th MSR 46:12 46:11 
15 Bart van Nuenen ARSV Passat 15th MSR 46:13 46:13 
16 Yuri Wolf AV Cifla 16th MSR 46:23 46: 23 
17 Marius Ionescu Romania MSR 17 46:56 46:55 
18 Koen Naert Belgium MSR 18 47:07 47:06 
19 Tecle Mekonen Nijmegen Athletics MSR 19 47:17 47:15 
20 Patrick Stitzinger ADRT Pegasus 20th MSR 47:48 47: 47

Software Translation from Dutch

Eritreans Yohanes G, Ghirmay Ghebreselassie Finish 5th, 7th at Neitherlands Race